Page 4: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (November 2013)

Marine Propulsion Annual

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of November 2013 Maritime Reporter Magazine

4 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News ? NOVEMBER 2013 contents1240Dr. Aly 12 Changing Course Shipyard boss Dr. Herbert Aly discusses future prospects at Blohm + Voss. By Peter Pospiech Wilber64 Strong Weld BAE Systems? Ashley Wilber is a great example of home grown welding talent and success. By Edward Lundquist the interviews PUBLISHERSJohn E. O?MalleyJohn C. O?Malley  jomalley@marinelink.comAssociate Publisher & EditorGregory R Trauthwein  trauthwein@marinelink.com Contributing Editors Dennis L. Bryant Edward Lundquist Correspondents Joseph Fonseca, India Greg Knowler, China Claudio Pashoa, Brazil Peter Pospiech, Germany Editorial Consultant James R. McCaul President, International Maritime Assoc. Web Editor Eric Haun  haun@marinelink.comPRODUCTION Production Manager Irina Tabakina  tabakina@marinelink.comCORPORATE STAFF Manager, Accounting Esther Rothenberger  rothenberger@marinelink.com Manager, Public Relations Mark O?Malley  momalley@marinelink.com Manager, Marketing Jocelyn Redfern  jredfern@marinelink.com Manager, Information Vladimir Bibik  bibik@marinelink.com Technology Services CIRCULATION Circulation Manager Kathleen Hickey  mrcirc@marinelink.com SALESVice President of Sales & MarketingRob Howard  howard@marinelink.comNational Sales Manager Terry Breese  breese@marinelink.com - Tel: (561) 732-1185; Fax: (561) 732-8414 Sales Representatives Lucia Annunziata  annunziata@marinelink.com - Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271 Frank Covella  covella@marinelink.com - Tel: (561) 732-1659; Fax: (561) 732-8063 Mitch Engel  engel@marinelink.com - Tel: (561) 732-0312; Fax: (561) 732-8063 Mike Kozlowski  kozlowski@marinelink.com - Tel: (561) 733-2477; Fax: (561) 732-9670 Dawn Trauthwein  dtrauthwein@marinelink.com - Tel: (631) 472-2715; Fax: (631) 868-3575 Jean Vertucci  vertucci@marinelink.com - Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271 Sales Administration Rhoda Morgan  morgan@marinelink.com & Of ce Manager Sales & Event Coordinator Michelle Howard  mhoward@marinelink.com Classi ed Sales Tel: (212) 477-6700 Scandinavia Roland Persson  roland@orn.nu Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24 Ystad, Sweden Tel: +46 411-184 00 ; Fax: +46 411 105 31 Western Europe Uwe Riemeyer  riemeyer@intermediapartners.de Tel: +49 202 27169 0 ; Fax: +49 202 27169 20 United Kingdom Paul Barrett  ieaco@aol.com Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK Tel: +44 1268 711560 M: +44 7778 357722 ; Fax: +44 1268 711567 Japan Katsuhiro Ishii  amskatsu@dream.com Ace Media Service Inc., 12-6, 4-chome, Nishiike, Adachi-ku, Tokyo 121, Japan Tel: +81 3 5691 3335 ; Fax: +81 3 5691 3336 Korea Jo, Young Sang  biscim.co.kr Business Communications Inc., Rm 1232, Gwanghwamoon Of cia Bldg., 163, 1-Ga, Shinmoon-Ro, Jongro-Gu, Seoul, Korea 110-999 Tel: +82 2 739 7840 ; Fax: +82 2 732 3662 www.marinelink.com MemberNEW YORK118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010 Tel: (212) 477-6700  Fax: (212) 254-6271 e-mail: mren@marinelink.comWeb: www.marinelink.com FLORIDA 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435Tel: (561) 732-4368; Fax: (561) 732-6984 24Capt. Wright 24 Safety is Job One Captain John Wright shares his insights on building & maintaining a healthy safety culture. By Murray Goldberg 60Ballast Water Time is Running OutMONITORING 16 KNOWLEDGE IS POWERThe case for independent monitoring and veriÞ cation of energy efÞ ciency initiatives is growing. By Tim AngerameGOVERNMENT UPDATE 20 NONTANK VRP REGULATIONS The clock is ticking toward the deadline to submit to the USCG an oil spill response plan that meets the new NTVRP regulations. By Dennis BryantSAFETY & TRAINING 24 BUILDING A HEALTHY SAFETY CULTURE If you think safety is expensive, try an accident.By Murray Goldberg IT 28 E-COMPLIANCEA quagmire or global, national and regional maritime regulations demand a modern solution to keep abreast of the changes. By Philipp LohrmannPROPULSION UPDATE 42 IN A NEW YORK MINUTE ... Fast ferry Wall Street repower: Less power, 30% less fuel con- sumption, 50% CO2 reduction = same speed. BALLAST WATER TECH 60 TIME IS RUNNING OUTThe quest to agree on a global standard for ballast water technol- ogy is best described as uncertain and frustrating. By Alan Johnstone(Copyright: © Erling Svensen / WWF-Canon)MR #11 (1-9).indd 4MR #11 (1-9).indd 411/13/2013 10:32:01 AM11/13/2013 10:32:01 AM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.